Albania is situated in southeastern Europe and shares borders with Montenegro, Kosovo, Macedonia, and Greece. It can be accessed by land, air, and sea. Citizens of the US, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and some other countries, as well as Europeans, do not require a visa to enter the country, only a passport that is valid for at least six months. Visitors without a visa are permitted to stay in Albania for 90 days upon arrival. Albania has two airports, Mother Theresa International Airport and Kukes Airport. The former is located approximately 20 minutes by car from Tirana and serves many national and international airlines, including Air Albania, Albawings, AirSerbia, Alitalia, Austrian Airlines, British Airways, Lufthansa, Easy Jet, and low-cost carriers such as Wizz Air and Pegasus. Buses, taxis, and rental cars are available for transportation to Tirana from the airport.

Entering Albania by bus from neighboring countries, such as Bulgaria and Turkey, is also possible, with travel times ranging from 1 to 22 hours depending on the departure location. If traveling by car, one can enter through one of the major border crossings. From Greece, three border crossings with Albania are available: Kakavia/Ktismata, Krystallopigi/Kapshticë, and Sagiada/Qafë Botë. Three border crossings are available with Montenegro: Sukobin/Muriqan, Bozhaj/Hani i Hotit, and Gusinje/Vermosh. Albania can also be entered via four major crossings with Macedonia and six with Kosovo. Before traveling, ensure that you possess a valid International Motor Insurance Card for Albania and Vehicle Registration.

Boats are another means of entering Albania, with services available from Italy to Durrës/Vlorë and from Corfu (Greece) to Sarandë. Train service is unavailable for entry or exit. Trains do operate within the country, but the service is limited. Therefore, the best ways to get around Albania are by bus or by car. Additional information on transportation in Albania can be found here.